Wednesday, October 03, 2007

Seven students from SPNA become HCPS Leadership Fellows!

Seven students who are public / nonprofit administration majors, minors or MPA candidates have become Leadership Fellows with the Hauenstein Center for Presidential Studies (HCPS): Megan Sall, Stephen Duckett, Patrick Reagan, Selma Tucker, Gerald Baraza, Allie Bush, and Robert La Fave.
Leadership Fellows will broaden their understanding of effective and virtuous leadership through several means. First, they will attend a series of eight monthly Leadership Academy meetings where local leaders will talk about the challenges of leadership in their arena. These people include Marty Allen, Chairman Emeritus of the Gerald R. Ford Foundation; Richard Breon, President & CEO of Spectrum Health; Chico Daniels, Director of the Guiding Light Mission; Ralph Hauenstein, Founding Benefactor of the Hauenstein Center for Presidential Studies and the Hauenstein Center at St. Mary's Health Care; Birgit Klohs, President of The Right Place; Kevin Stotts, Executive Director of Leadership Grand Rapids; Bernard Taylor, Superintendent of Grand Rapids Public Schools; and Lucille Taylor, Trustee at Grand Valley State University and former chief legal council to governor Engler. Fellows will also be encouraged to attend the Ralph W. Hauenstein Series -- six evening programs with leading scholars and writers who have studied leadership.
The Hauenstein Center for Presidential Studies (HCPS) was established at Grand Valley State University in 2001, to "provide a foundation for influencing present and future leaders through the study of the presidency." The generosity of Col. Ralph Hauenstein -- former presidential advisor and chief of intelligence during World War II --made possible the Center's establishment, and his vision gave it shape.


No comments: